Start a new topic

About reading speed and subtitle length

With the authorization of Devanathan, I am reposting here his ticket about subtitle length and reading speed, two parameters sometimes difficult to reconcile:

Hi,

I have newly signed up with Amara and would like to contribute subtitles in Tamil for the videos. 

I am facing the following problem and please give me a step by step solution.

Let us say one scene has got 5 seconds. In that 5 secs, I want to display two 2 line subtitles. I am able to create a 4 line subtitle, but I am not able to place them side by side - as two, two line subtitles-in the time frame so that they are covered in the available time frame one after the other.

Hope the problem is clear.

Please give a clear solution to the above problem  I am new to Amara, and has just started using it.

Regards,

Devanathan.

Below, my reply (slightly edited)

Another great resource for subtitle guidelines is Wiki (OTPedia): http://goo.gl/rlBhq3.

In the case you describe, I would split the 4-line subtitle into two 2-line subtitles over the 5 second scene: you can do that in translation, you don't have to stick to the splitting and timing of the original subtitles. This might trigger an alert about too fast a reading speed. In translation, you can often reduce the speed by choosing the shorter of several possible wordings: see TED Translators' great video tutorial  OTP Learning Series 05: Subtitle length and reading speed